1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Federal, State, and County Representation


New Providence is in the Seventh Congressional District and is part of New Jersey's 21st Legislative District.

New Jersey's Seventh Congressional District, covering portions of Hunterdon County, Middlesex County, Somerset County and Union County, is represented by Leonard Lance (R, Flemington).
New Jersey is represented in the Senate by Cory Booker (D, Newark) and Robert Menendez (D, Hoboken).

 The 21st District of the New Jersey Legislature is represented in the State Senate by Thomas Kean Jr. (R, Westfield) and in the Assembly by Jon Bramnick (R, Westfield) and Nancy Munoz (R, Summit).

The Governor of New Jersey is Chris Christie (R, Mendham).

Union County is governed by a nine-member Board of Chosen Freeholders, elected at-large to three-year terms on a staggered basis. The county government is responsible for the construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges and the operation of a county jail. It may operate many programs, such as police and fire training academies and emergency services, maintain park and recreation systems, administer programs for special groups, and usually assumes public health functions.  

Print this text