What You Should Know About The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program

Intoxicated Driving Program Division of Addiction Services

HOW DOES THE PROGRAM APPLY TO ME? If you have been convicted of an alcohol or drug-related traffic or boating offense in New Jersey, you must satisfy the requirements of the intoxicated Driving Program (IDP) and the Intoxicated Driver Center (IDRC). These programs have two purposes: (1) to make our highways and waterways safer by educating drivers and boat operators about alcohol, drugs and their relation to motor vehicle and boating safety, and (2) to identify and treat those who need treatment for an alcohol or drug problem.

WHAT PROGRAM MUST I ATTEND, AND WHERE IS IT? If you are sentenced as a first offender, you will be detained, educated, and evaluated for at least six hours each day on two consecutive days — a total of 12 hours – in your county IDRC. If you are sentenced as a second offender and not sentenced to jail or inpatient treatment, you will be detained, educated and evaluated during a period of 48 consecutive hours in a regional facility. If you are sentenced as a third offender, the court may sentence you to jail or to an inpatient alcoholism treatment program or both. IDP will schedule you to appear at the 12-hour IDRC for follow up. You may be required to participate in additional treatment or self help. In all cases you must satisfy the program, fee and treatment requirements of IDP/IDRC before your license is restored.

IF I DON’T LIVE IN NEW JERSEY, MUST I STILL COMPLY? Yes. The driving privilege restoration and IDP fees ($150) still must be paid to Motor Vehicle Services. If you live within driving distance of an IDRC in New Jersey, you will be scheduled to appear there. If not you will be given an opportunity to satisfy the requirements in your home state.

WHAT IF I DON’T PARTICIPATE? If you fail to appear at the IDRC or do not satisfactorily complete a prescribed treatment or self-help program, or pay the fees on time, your license suspension will be extended or reimposed, and you may also be jailed two days for noncompliance. IDP/IDRC program completion will still be required.

WHAT HAPPENS AT THE IDRC? You will pay the IDRC program fee and complete a questionnaire. You will attend a series of educational sessions and discussions. You will meet with a counselor for a personal evaluative interview.

WHAT DOES THE EDUCATION PROGRAM DO? The education program, which is part of the 12- and 48- hour IDRC, contains information on social and problem drinking, stages of alcoholism, the family and other relationships, alcohol and drugs and their effects on driving ability, and the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Law.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I HAVE BEEN DETAINED AND EVALUATED? You may be referred to a treatment program or self help group for alcohol or drug problems. If you are referred to treatment, it will be for a minimum of 16 weeks. The IDRC may require monitored treatment or self-help group attendance for a maximum of one year. You must complete treatment as part of your sentence.

WHAT ABOUT MY DRIVER’S LICENSE? Your driving privilege will be restored when you have satisfied all court- and DMV- imposed suspensions and if you are in compliance with all Intoxicated Driver Resource Center requirements.

WHAT IS IDP/IDRC? The Intoxicated Driving Program is a unit of the Division of Addiction Services of the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services. The IDRCs are units of, or contractors to, the 21 counties. IDP schedules you for the 12- or 48-Hour IDRC program and notifies Motor Vehicle Services (MVS) when you have completed or failed to comply. IDP staff work with the IDRCs to insure that you are treated fairly under the law.

HOW MUCH DOES IT COST? Please see summary of offenses below. If you are referred to a treatment program you are also responsible for those costs.

Summary of DWI & related offenses as of 1/01

Offense (BAC) Fine Jail/Community Service Suspension or Revocation Other
DWI, lst* min: $250 max: $400 Up to 30 days Min: 6 mosMax: 1 yr IDRC detainment, 12 to 48 hours. Insurance surcharge of $1,000 per year for 3 years. Misc. fees: $525Court may require installation of an ignition interlock (6mos – 1 year
DWI, 2nd* min: $500 max: $1,000 min:48 hoursmax: 90 daysCommunity service: 30 day 2 yrs IDRC detainment.Insurance surcharge of $1O0O per year for 3 years. Misc. fees: $575

Court may require installation of an ignition interlock or revocation of registration and plates (1 –3 yrs)

DWI, 3rd and subsequent* $1,000 180 days may be reduced by 90 days of community 10 yrs May be sentenced to treatment in lieu of jail. IDRC Completion. Insurance surcharge of $1,500 per year for 3 years. Misc. fees: $525

Court may require installation of an ignition interlock or revocation of registration and plates (1 – 3 yrs)

Breath Test Refusal min: $250 max: $500 lst: 6 mos2nd: 2 yrs3rd: 10 yrs IDRC completion. Insurance Surcharge.
Driving while suspended for DWI lst: $1,000 2nd: $1,250 3rd: $1,500 10 – 90 days; if an injury occurs, 45 days 1 – 2 yrs additional suspension Insurance surcharge of $250 per year for 3 years will be assessed.
Offense (BAC) Fine Jail/Community Service Suspension or Revocation Other
Operating boat under the influence lst: $250- 4OO 2nd:

$500- 1,000

3rd: $1,000

2nd: 48 hours-90 days; 30 days of community service 3rd: up to 180 days (may be lowered by up to 90 days of community service) 1st: 12 mos – boat 3mos – driver2nd:

2 yrs – boat 6 mos -driver

3rd:

10 yrs – boat 2 yrs -driver

IDRC completion, treatment (as needed).
Driving after underage drinking Community service: 15 – 30 days min: 30 days max: 90 days
Consumption in a vehicle lst: $200 2nd: $250 2nd: 10 days of community service IDRC completion
Underage possession, purchase or consumption of alcohol** $500 6mos If person is not yet licensed, there will be a 6 month delay in obtaining one.

*If DWI was committed in a school zone, the driver will face enhanced fines ($500 – $2,000) and license suspension (1 – 20 yrs). Enhanced penalties will also be applied on the parent or guardian of a minor child convicted of DWI with a minor child present in the vehicle.
**Disorderly person offense, criminal code.

FOR MORE INFORMATION WRITE TO: Intoxicated Driving Program, CN 365, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0365.