Mandatory 10 Digit Dialing Effective October 24

Effective October 24,2021 for NJ Area Codes 908 and 856

Beginning October 24, 2021, in order to complete all local calls, you will need to dial area code + telephone number in the following New Jersey area codes:

  • 908: Union, Somerset, Warren, Hunterdon, and parts of Morris counties
  • 856: Cumberland, Salem, Gloucester, Camden, and parts of Atlantic and Burlington counties

All automatic dialing equipment will require reprogramming such as life safety systems or medical monitoring devices, fire or burglar alarm and security systems, speed dialers, call forwarding services, internet dial-up and other similar functions to ensure the area code is included.

The price of a call, coverage area, or other rates and services will not change due to the dialing change.

For any questions, contact your telephone carrier



New Providence